Song of the day #2: Aerosmith “Rag Doll”

My first ever major concert was Aerosmith at the Tennis Centre in 1990 and I’m certainly not ashamed to say it. Aerosmith were my favourite band in my early teens (when bored in class I would doodle the Aerosmith logo on my school folder). I like them much more than, say, Led Zeppelin who seem to take themselves a little too seriously while Aerosmith had more of a funky, boogie element to their music. Rag Doll is a good example of this.

Their “all killer no filler” masterpiece is Rocks, released the year I was born. But Rag Doll marks the beginning of their second wind in the late 80s which began with 87’s Permanent Vacation and peaked with Pump in ’89.

Leave a Reply

